Do All Dogs Really Go to Heaven

I’ve been wondering if all dogs actually go to Heaven – then I blush because I realize that this is a kiddie movie. But, not long after, I again start pondering the same thought.

I don’t know that I necessarily give Heaven a whole lot of thought. I suppose it’s because I believe in doing the best I can – without the threat of God’s wrath. Heaven is or isn’t a place where I will either go or not go – worrying about it, even thinking about it, won’t change that.

But, I do find myself thinking about it when it comes to Ralfh – my kind and gentle giant. I think about his life, and the idea that it is just done, gone, over – well – it breaks my heart. I would like to think somehow he’s in heaven right now. I know there will be those fanatics that would attack the idea of a pet going to Heaven, and attack me for wishing it were so, but, in the same way I don’t fear God’s wrath, I don’t fear Man’s. Anyway, I digress.

I think, well, God is love right? And, if all of the hype about God, Jesus, Heaven and Hell are true, then of course Ralfh must have a place in Heaven. Ralfh’s love of us was so enormous that there is no way God could let it die. Assuming there’s a God right?

I’ve read the Bible cover to cover, I’ve gone to church once upon a time, I’ve read some of the religious zealot’s postings on Facebook – and as such I know the Story and the Rules. That’s all I need to know. If I am a good person, and a loving person, it’s because I am – I am not one because I’ve been bullied by the Bible or by some Priest on a pulpit. My heart’s full of love, like Ralfh’s, and I expect that should I die, and there happens to be a Heaven, I’ll be given a ticket to ride. Thus, if God values all life, and cherishes all loving and good creatures, I will see my good boy again. If there is no Heaven, and the Bible turns out to be a book of parables to teach us how to live, then it won’t matter.

Sigh. I truly hope that there’s a Heaven and Ralphy is waiting for me there.

But, in the end, I realize that this thought, this idea, will not be answered in my lifetime … but in a lifetime beyond – again, assuming one exists. I trudge on doing as I’ve always done and hope with all my heart that Ralfhy would be wagging his tail at my effort.

R.I.P. Ralfhy Bananas.

Leave a comment